J Perry Silver Award

For outstanding service to physical therapy
(This award is not given out every year)

Recent Recipient:

Presented in 2014 to Nicholas A. Munning III, PT.

Al Crothers receives JP Silver Award

Congratulations Nick Munnings!

Vice President Paula Moores presents the J Perry Silver Award to Nick Munnings.

past recipients

Prior Recipients of the J Perry Award

Some past J Perry Silver Award Recipients, from left. Gary Bartoo,
Julie Ellis, Nick Munnings, Al Crothers, Larry Ohman.



Established in 1981 to recognize excellence in clinical practice, dedication to patients, to the profession, and to sharing knowledge with others.

The late J. Perry Silver was an outstanding physical therapist in Idaho. His example of clinical excellence and service to his profession has been an inspiration to his colleagues.


To acknowledge the achievements and contributions of Idaho’s outstanding physical therapists.


  1. An active member of IPTA
  2. A person who has engaged in physical therapy practice for at least 15 years.
  3. A person whose allegiance has been to the patient and the profession.
  4. A person who has participated actively in Chapter activities, giving generously and willingly of time and effort on behalf of the profession. 
  5. A person who has made contributions to physical therapy in general by dissemination of useful and fundamentally sound information through such media as: publications, lectures or films, leading workshops or in radio or television programs.

Nominations should include:

  1. History of the individual’s professional clinical experience, description of job responsibilities, and examples of outstanding clinical contributions.
  2. Evidence of the individual’s professional allegiance to his/her patients as demonstrated by honors and awards, record of community activities on behalf of the physically challenged, letters from former patients, students, hospital administrators, physicians, supervisors, employees, etc.
  3. A record of service to IPTA.
  4. A list of efforts and their outcomes to disseminate useful and fundamentally sound physical therapy information.
To nominate someone, please complete this form.

Past Recipients 

J. Perry Silver    1981
Doug Raymond    1985
Lynn R Johnson    1994
Arlee Kawakami    1995
Barbara Corwin    1996
Jan Waite    1997
Tom Wagner    1999
Laurie Brunette    2000
Lorna Brown    2001
Julie Ellis    2003
Gary Bartoo    2004
Gayle Fry    2005
Scott Bloxham    2007
Alex Urfer    2008
Larry Ohman 2011
Jan Yingst 2012
Alan Crothers 2013
Nick Munnings 2014
Not Awarded 2015
Not Awarded 2016
Not Awarded 2017